Southern India

Southern India has five states on the mainland: There are also three union territories: Here are nine of the most notable cities.


The are a large group of nearly 600 islands in the Bay of Bengal.

is a state in . In 2014, it was split in two, with the northwestern half becoming the new state of .

is a state in that stretches from in the north to in the south.

, a state in , is known as a tropical paradise of waving palms and wide, sandy beaches.

, the land of Tamils, is a state in known for its temples and architecture, food, movies and classical Indian dance and Carnatic music.

is a state in . It is bordered by the states of to the north and north-west, to the west, to the north-east, and to the south and east.

Southern India Photos


Southern India Hotels

My Destination
Travel Dates

For More Information

Popular Destinations in India

Escape to a Random Place

Thanks for Sharing

One's destination is never a place, but rather a new way of looking at things.
About Tripcarta. Site powered by Mapcarta. Based on the page Southern India.
Photos provided by Flickr and Foursquare under the copyright of their owners. Tripcarta uses the Flickr API but is not endorsed or certified by Flickr. Please contact us if you'd prefer to remove your Flickr photos from Tripcarta.